Hello Everyone!
I’m sorry I didn’t write an email last week… I’ll try to be better ๐Ÿ™‚ These past couple weeks have been crazy! We have still been working a lot with the ward members and trying to strengthen the ward lately. This past sunday a lot of people were at church! But lots of them left after sacrament meeting… So that is our next challenge! Ha! There is a lot of progress though!
Last week my companion and I made a goal to be more dilligent. We are obedient missionaries but we were having a hard time being exactly obedient with getting up at exactly 6:30 and going tracting from exactly 5 to 7:00 and going to bed at exactly 10:30. So we set some goals to become better and we have been doing really well. A couple days after we set the goal, our mission president told the mission that our assignment for the week was to make a couple goals to be more dilligent and then at the end of the week we were to write him a letter about the blessings we saw from our efforts. So we had already begun our assignment before we were assigned it! We added on another goal to be more dilligent in our tracting. We were determined to find some investigators (we haven’t had many at all) So this past week we have done really well with our goals and we have seen SO many blessings come from it. The biggest blessing happened last night. We started tracting half an hour early and we finished knocking a couple apartment complexes that we had started about a week ago. We had about 20 minutes left and we decided that we needed to go knock on a certain street. It was almost 7:00 and we decided to knock one more house. A lady answered and when she saw that we were from a church she was so excited and came outside to talk to us. She told us that she has been looking into a lot of churches and that none of them felt completely right to her but that she had gone to mormon.org the other day and was very interested in learning more about our church! She has 5 kids and she and her husband really want to learn more! She is very in tune with the spirit and I’m so excited that we found her! She asked us when we could come back to teach her and her family and we are going back this week! So… because my companion and I were striving to be more dilligent this week we were able to see the blessings. We also learned the importance of following the spirit and of enduring to the end. We knocked on soooo many doors this week and it was the last one that we knocked on when we were able to see the blessings ๐Ÿ™‚ I absolutly love being a missionary. It hits me multiple times every day that this is the most important work I will ever do. And that I will be talking about the experiences that I have over these 18 months for the rest of my life and even eternity! I feel so lucky to be in Tacoma Washington. I’ve met so many people who have had such an impact on me and changed me for the better and I know I wouldn’t have met them if I hadn’t come on a misison. Thanks to all of you for your love and support. You are in my prayers! Have a great week!

Sister Hailey Gehring

Tacoma sunset

