Hello Everyone!
This is the last week of the transfer! It has gone by too fast! I’ve been having so much fun in Wollochet with Sister Clayson. We are praying extra hard to both be able to stay here for another transfer. We will know by Saturday!!
This week the whole mission had the amazing opportunity to go to Zions Camp! We had a little devotional and then split into small groups to rotate through stations on the ropes course! The first one was slack lines in the shape of a triangle and you and your companion had to walk from the top of the triangle to the very bottom. Clayson and I dominated that one πŸ™‚ We learned from that obsticle that we really can’t do anything without working well with our companions and that you really need to serve each other. The next station we did was “The Wall”. Most of you have probably heard of this one. There is a big wall and you have to get everyone from one side of the wall to the other. Pretty simple. Ha but we weren’t able to talk during the challenge and the wall was pretty high! I was one of the first people up the wall so that I could help pull other girls to the top. One by one we struggled to get everyone over. Finally we get to the last girl. This one was hard because the girls before had others help lift them up to where I could grab their hand and pull them the rest of the way up. We had decided to have her go last because she was pretty small and we figured that she would be the easiest one to lift at the end. The problem was that she was pretty short… A couple girls held me while I leaned as far over the wall as I could to grab her. She tried over and over to run and jump to grab my hand but no matter how hard we both tried, we couldn’t make it work… Finally our time was up and I slowly climbed down from the wall. I had tears in my eyes as I pictured that sister trying SO hard but just barely coming short of my hand. I thought of myself trying my very best to be perfect and reach the Savior and Him reaching down to me, wanting me SO badly to grab his hand and give my will over to Him so that I can be with Him. But I’m not perfect… and the Savior knows that. Luckily He has a provided a way for me to make up for my weaknesses. As I shared my feelings with the other Sisters we all had tears in our eyes… The scripture 2 Nephi 25:23 came to my mind. “It is by grace that we are saved, after all we can do.” That scripture is so comforting to me but also very motivating. The promise there is that we do have a chance to have eternal life even if we come up short… As long as we are doing ALL THAT WE CAN DO. I know that God wants us to be with Him again someday and that he gives us every opportunity possible to accept Him.
This transfer, Sister Clayson and I decided that our theme for the 6 weeks we have together is ‘Miracles” So at the end of every day we think back on the miracles of the day that we were able to see. Ha yesterday we saw a pretty funny/cool one! Before we begin tracting we say a prayer to know where Heavenly Father wants us to knock doors that day and then we say a prayer right before we actually get out of the car to tract. Sister Clayson said the first prayer and we picked a neighborhood and drove to it. By the time we arrived it was POURING rain outside. The rain was so loud that we could barely hear each other. Before I started to say the second prayer I thought to myself, “Dang, I’m going to have to yell this prayer so that Sister Clayson can hear it!” As soon as I said “Dear Heavenly Father” the rain completely stopped. Cold turkey. Not a drop! Ha Clayson and I looked at each other with big eyes and just busted up! Then it slowly started to rain as we laughed about what just happened. The rain started to build up again until it was just as loud as it was before. We finally composed ourselves and as soon as I said “Dear” to try to pray again, the rain completely stopped AGAIN! Wow, Heavenly Father really does have quite the sence of humor!
Ha well I hope everyone is doing well. I’m really enjoying my time in Wollochet πŸ™‚ Have a great week!

Sister Hailey Gehring

