Hey everyone!
I had an awesome Christmas Eve and Christmas! Christmas Eve we spent with the Henricksons in our ward. They fed us a wonderful dinner and then we all went caroling! We made a list of new members and people who were struggling and decided to go sing to them! It was my favorite thing that we did this Christmas. One older lady was alone for Christmas and just broke down and told us how much she appreciated it and that it made her not feel alone. She had just been crying and praying for comfort. It really touched my heart and helped me realize how much small acts of kindness mean to people.
On Christmas we had a pretty booked schedule! We had a big breakfast with the Palmers in the ward. Then we went to Aislinns house and spent some time with the kids 🙂 They were so excited to get their CTR rings for Christmas 🙂 Then we went to our Bishops house and Skyped our families. It was so surreal to see my family! It was great to talk to them though. 🙂 Then we went to Terrys house and opened presents and had a big dinner and “snowballs” (coconut covered ice cream balls) and we also got to sing Happy Birthday to Jesus! Haha! Then we went to the Smiths and had an even bigger dinner! And we finished the night off with Aislinn and the kids 🙂
Of course I missed being with my family this Christmas but it was so great to be able to spend it with these amazing people that I love so much here in Washington.
Now for New Years!!!! It is so crazy to look back on this past year! So much has happened. I think the only resolution I had for last year was to go on a mission… haha so I did pretty well! But I’ve been pondering on what goals I want to set for myself this year and I’m excited to have a new year to work hard and become the person that my Heavenly Father wants me to be. I am grateful for this time I have to improve myself and serve others.
Well, have a great week!

Sister Hailey Gehring

