Hey everyone!
The holidays are officially over! That can be pretty good news for missionaries. It is hard to get appointments when everyone is traveling and with family. We had a couple good lessons this week. The first one was with Cody. He is a recent converts son and is interested to learn more about the church because he has seen how much it has blessed his dads life. We planned on teaching him the third lesson-The Gospel of Jesus Christ- but when we got there he had some great questions about the Plan of Salvation and the Book of Mormon. So we were able to answer his questions and read the first chapter of the Book of Mormon with him. It was so great to get him started in reading the Book of Mormon. I’ve been studying Preach My Gospel from the beginning and that morning I had read the part that says: Trust Moroni’s promise. Do all you can to help others to read the book, understand it, and ask God sincerely if it is true. I know that if he really does ask God to know if it is true that he will receive his answer that it is!
The other person that we were able to teach this week was Bill (Terrys husband) He believes that the Book of Mormon is true but he is struggling to give up coffee. We were able to explain the connection between the Book of Mormon and coffee. If the Book of Mormon is true, that means that Joseph Smith was a true prophet and that we can receive modern day revelation. That is where the Word of Wisdom came from. So if he knows that the Book of Mormon is true, the word of wisdom is a commandment from God! He is going to need a little more time but I think he understood the connection.
I am so grateful for the Book of Mormon and the chance I’ve had to have it be a part of my life. I remember reading it whenever I had a bad dream when I was little and being so comforted. I’m always able to feel Gods love for me when I read it and I love sharing it with others and bearing testimony of the power of that book. It has brought me so much comfort, peace, and direction throughout my life and I love seeing it change peoples lives every day here in Washington. If you don’t read the Book of Mormon every day, start now! I know you will receive answers to prayers and see the blessings in your life if you put forth that effort.
That’s about it for this week. I love you all!

Sister Hailey Gehring

