Hey Everyone!
This week was pretty slow, we didn’t have many lessons but we did have a great Zone Conference on Tuesday! Zone Conference is just so great, I always learn so much! Before we went, I had been reading in Mosiah for my personal study and in Chapter 2 it says:
I say unto you, my bretheren, that if you should render all the thanks and praise which your whole soul has power to possess, to that God who has created you, and has kept and preserved you, and has caused that ye should rejoice, and has granted that ye should live in peace one with another- I say unto you that if ye should serve him who has created you from the beginning, and is preserving you from day to day, by lending you breath, that ye may live and move and do according to your own will, and even supporting you from one moment to another- I say, if ye should serve him with all your whole souls yet ye would be unprofitable servants.
When I read that I honestly felt a little discouraged. I’ve been trying to show more gratitude towards my Heavenly Father for all that He has given me but there is absolutely no way that any of us can even begin to pay Him back for all our blessings. But then I read the first sentence in the next verse:
And behold, all that he requires of you is to keep his commandments…
This is just a testimony to me of how much our Heavenly Father loves us. All he asks is to keep his commandments! And I know that He wants us to keep these commandments just so that he can bless us even more. It sounds so simple when we put it that way but really, it isn’t always easy!
At Zone Conference later that day we were talking about the scripture in 3 Nephi 12:48:
Therefore I would that ye should be perfect even as I, or your Father who is in heaven is perfect.
Ha so that’s a pretty big commandment. As we discussed this scripture, I learned that honestly none of us can be perfect at everything right now. We are all going to make mistakes every day so how can we ever be perfect? We can’t be perfect at everything right now… but we can be perfect in some things and work on our imperfections! Tithing- we CAN be perfect at keeping that commandment. And church attendance. We can perfectly keep that commandment right now! Some can be more difficult- like keeping a prayer in our hearts and focusing our minds on the Savior at all times, and gratitude. Those are some that I’ll probably always be working on! So I really learned this week that this life is a time for us to prepare! We should constantly be trying to improve ourselves and come closer to our Savior. But we shouldn’t be too hard on ourselves! Heavenly Father doesn’t expect us to be perfect right this second, He just expects us to be practicing and striving to get as close to that goal as we can every day. If we are just a little better today than we were yesterday, I know our Father in Heaven is happy.
I am so grateful for the perfect example that Jesus Christ has set for us. I know that it is only through Him that we can return to live with our Heavenly Father again someday. I know that if we turn our will to the Father that He truly can make us better than we could ever make ourselves. He is begging us to turn to Him and to rely on the Atonement to cleanse us and heal us and make us new.

Love you all! Have a great week!

Sister Hailey Gehring

