Hey Everyone!
So we had a surprise for transfers! Sister Johnston and I really thought we were going to be staying together for at least one more but unfortunately Sister Johnston is getting transferred. She is going to one of my favorite areas: Gig Harbor Wollochet ward! She will be with Sister Thompson (I went to high school with her) and they will be training together! Waaaaaaaay lucky! I have no idea how they are going to fit another person in that little blue house though! Its hardly big enough for two! I’ve told her all about that area already and she is really excited to be ending her mission there. I will be staying in Elma 2nd ward and I will be getting Sister Julien as my new STL companion. We will also be getting Sister Casner! It will be interesting adjusting to having three of us together. This is Sister Casners last transfer so Sister Julien and I will probably be staying together next transfer and get another third companion. But you never know! President really surprised us with this transfer call.

One cool experience I had this week was on Tuesday. I was on an exchange with Sister Lechuga. We had a lesson with our investigator named James Edwards. He has been investigating the church for 9 months now and is sorta dragging his feet with baptism. He goes to church every Sunday without fail, he has read the Book of Mormon 2 1/2 times now, and is keeping the commandments… basically he is a dry Mormon! We have talked to him about his concerns and finally got him on date a couple weeks ago for September 14th. On Tuesday we took our Ward Mission Leader and his wife (the Whites) with us for our lesson. In a previous lesson James had mentioned the fact that Sister Johnston and I, as well as the fellowship we had for his lessons were all members who had grown up in the church and that he wanted to talk to converts. Well, the Whites and Sister Lechuga were all converts. They shared their conversion stories and had a great discussion. The spirit was so strong in that lesson and it was brought up that James may not get a really strong confirmation until he was in the waters of baptism, or even after that! It was also brought up that he needed to give the spirit time to answer his prayers when he was praying. These were two things that Sister Johnston and I had taught James a few days before. Sister Johnston had felt impressed to tell James that he would receive his confirmation in the waters of baptism. I hadn’t told the Whites or Sister Lechuga about this promise that was made to James so it was really cool to see that they were also prompted to promise him that as well. The Spirit is SO key in teaching. As long as we are listening and following the promptings we receive, we will be able to say what our Heavenly Father knows they need to hear.

Lately I’ve been pondering on my mission; the experiences I’ve had, how I’ve changed, and the people I’ve grown to love. I feel so blessed to have had this experience. I know that it has changed me and changed my life 🙂 It has been fun serving with Sister Johnston because we are able to see how much each other has changed since we were in the MTC together. She has really taught me a lot and I feel blessed to have her as one of my best friends. I realized yesterday that I’m in the final weeks of my mission. I have 10 weeks to work hard and give it my all. I’ve changed a lot but I expect to learn and grow even more in these last few weeks! So happy to be in the WaTac 🙂 Love you!

Sister Hailey Gehring

